My New Project

Here we go. I decided about 5 days ago that I should take on a new project in my life. An adventure project – a blog. I guess it isn’t so earth shattering since there are tons out there (uhh…anybody else have a hard time finding a URL for their blog? no?) but it feels like a big step for me.

I am lucky to be employed full time at a company that takes good care of its employees and does something relatively nice in the world. My job? Project Manager. What does that mean? I essentially nag my colleagues so we deliver on time to our clients. It requires extreme organization and the ability to juggle many balls. And while I think I am pretty good at my job, I just do not love what I do.

Being in my twenties, I am fairly certain that I am not alone in this feeling, and that there are others out there who have found themselves doing something they never thought they would do. On the other hand, I have plenty of friends who are fortunate to have work that they are passionate about. I envy those people, but a wise friend told me to remember that we all have things in our life that we are unhappy about, and not to worry so much. She is absolutely right. While my job can be a source of anxiety, my home life is lovely. I have a good (great, glorious, generous) man. We have 3 beautiful (animal) children. And we live in a cute little house in a quiet town…really, I am blessed.

The catch is, my job has gotten me to the point in my life where I can own a home with my partner. I know I don’t want to stay in this line of business forever, but I don’t know where else to go. It is overwhelming to think of all the different career paths I could take, and I find it impossible to nail down one single thing that I really have a passion for. So where does that leave me? With my new project – this blog – focused only on the great adventure that is this life, and where it can take me. No spreadsheets, no outrageous deadlines, no business rules, no external circumstances beyond my control… Just me, taking time (hopefully once a week) to write about things that I love.

I should mention here (in case it is not already obvious) that I really love to write. So really I have 2 goals when it comes to this blog project:

  1. Take time to write. Create lively and interesting articles on this blog so I can share them with prospective employers, and dazzle them with my writing skills.
  2. Find my passion. Focus my content on topics that I love and how I can make those things into a viable job.

Who knows where this will go. This is an adventure.

4 comments

  1. Katerson

    Well written! Pretty much, my thoughts exactly!
    We’ll get there one day… this is definitely a step in the right direction!
    xo

Leave a Reply

