When I grow up…

There are so many resources out there to help people figure out what to do with their lives, and I have spent many hours on the web reading, unforunately without any positive results. Maybe this has to do with a recurring question I have seen countless times.

The question: When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

The answer: I have no idea. As a child, I don’t think I had any specific aspirations, besides the obvious dream of being a famous Oscar-winning actress or loved singer-songwriter.

I don’t think either of those careers are in the cards for me and I’ve been trying to remember if there were other dream jobs I had as a kid, or in more recent years as an adult. I still say “when I grow up I want to be…” even though I kind of already did grow up…but am I a grown up? It doesn’t really feel that way, except when I pay the mortgage and other fun bills.

While I do not have specific memories of being a kid with a dream job, I do clearly remember the following.

  • My biggest dream as a kid was to be a mommy. Seriously. Let’s not even get into how crazy that is, considering that today, I have absolutely NO desire to have children, not to mention that my child-self didn’t realize that being a housewife isn’t really a viable career option.
  • I think I might have wanted to be an author, only because I used to write the longest short stories in school and thought they were probably the most awesome literature out there. Does that idea still appeal to me? Yes. Do I have any brilliant ideas for a novel or short story? Not so much.
  • As a teenager, I wanted to be a wedding planner. Oh, how the times have changed. Like children, weddings no longer appeal to me in the same way. I am all for celebrating your love with the special people in your life, but the idea of spending more than a down payment on a house for 1 day is just crazy to me, and I certainly would not want to encourage that by being the person organizing said party.
  • Ironically, I do have a random memory of going to work with my dad as a kid, seeing a woman working in the office in a snazzy royal blue power suit (this would have been the early 90’s), and thinking “Wow, she is beautiful and must be very important. I wonder if I will do something like that one day.” And, here I am, over 20 years later, probably DOING the job that woman was doing. Only I don’t have a royal blue power suit.

I suppose the lesson learned here is – get a time machine and figure things out early in your life. OK no, that’s dramatic and never going to happen. The real lesson is that things change, people change, and you can never stand still. If I had stuck to the idea of being a wedding planner, I might have had a cool job and maybe I wouldn’t feel the way I do today about weddings. Maybe I would have had a 300 person wedding instead of buying a house with my man. Maybe I would be best friends with Vera Wang – which would be awesome, but highly unlikely.

What’s great about life is, you can always change your mind. I still don’t think being a wedding planner is the right thing for me – this movie sort of killed it for me – but I do like the idea of event planning and I know that I would be AMAZING at it. (Organization should probably be my middle name.) So that’s something.

3 comments

  1. natalyabochkova777@gmail.com

    Awesome! It seems like less of a loss of innocence to experience than a realization that your childhood dreams weren’t actually yours but those of your culture and society. The one thing that stands out is your passion as a child to write which you are still doing now! Once again the problem arises that as a “grown-up” you have the choice and freedom to pursue your dreams however there is no guarantee of recognition or reward for your labors, especially if they are challenging the status-quo and the structure of the system with regard to marriage, children or economy. Looking forward to reading more!

  2. Pingback: Wise Words from an Inventor | This is an adventure.

Leave a Reply

