Crafts and pin-spiration

Pinterest has really inspired me to spend more time focusing on the things that I love. For some reason, I am always slow to get on the technology bandwagon – my friends will attest to the fact that I am constantly behind the times when it comes to the newest features on our phones or the latest and greatest social media site. Pinterest was no exception; I only joined this year but it has quickly become an obsession. I just love browsing the different categories and seeing all the cool and fun pins that people create. All that browsing (and pinning on my part) made me realize that there are plenty of things outside my day job that I can get excited about.

Which brings me to a true love in my life: arts and crafts. There is something deeply rewarding about putting your time and energy into creating something beautiful, and I suppose a little indulgent – it is thrilling to get a compliment on something in your home and be able to say, “I made that!” When I was younger, I would love to play artist, and made a few special pieces that I still have today. The DIY & Craft section on Pinterest reminded me of that, so I have resolved to get back into crafting and indulging my inner artist, via this blog. This will be the first of many show and tell’s, I hope!

A few months ago, I pinned an excellent corkboard idea from this adorable blog. Full credit goes to Anne, who writes that blog – not only I am I knocking off her post today, I also followed her instructions pretty closely, with fantastic results.

Here’s what I did!

I bought a few packs of 12 x 12″ cork from Michaels and with the help of my handyman, acquired a 3 x 4 foot piece of plywood. Full disclosure: he did all the heavy lifting at the hardware store and when the plywood wouldn’t fit in my car, he brought it back into the store so we could have it cut on the spot. I picked up some wood glue while we were there, and then had a little gluing party in my living room:

Glue Party!

Glue Party!

One piece at a time

One piece at a time.

The animals weren't very excited

The animals weren’t very excited about my glue party.

When all the pieces were stuck on there, I piled on a bunch of heavy books and let everything set overnight. After much angst and indecision, I picked out this great linen polka dot creamy fabric and had it cut to 4 x 5 feet in store. The best part about this board is that I can replace the fabric any time when I want to update the look – but next time I would probably get the fabric cut to 3 1/2 x 4 1/2 feet since I ended up cutting off a lot.

All ready to be dressed up!

All ready to be dressed up!

Staple Party!

Staple Party!

Full disclosure, continued: I also needed help with the staple gun. My man used his extra strength to really nail those staples in – when I tried, they would stick out of the plywood instead of really sticking down. Note to self: maybe do some arm exercises in the near future! Here’s the final product, in my home office. Next week I am going to buy some hooks so we can hang it on the wall.

My new corkboard!

My new corkboard!

I love it! Thinking that I would not mind making custom corkboards for a living if I can beef up my arms a bit.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Arts and (Crafty) Organization | This is an adventure.
  2. Pingback: Adventures in 2014 | This is an adventure.

Leave a Reply

