A Love Letter to Radiohead

Dear Thom, Jonny, Ed, Colin, Philip,

Let me start by saying thank you, for supplying the soundtrack to my life. I have enjoyed your music for many years, and I think this must really be true love. You are with me through it all. When I am feeling blue, I listen to you. When I am feeling anxious, I listen to you. When I am feeling happy, I listen to you. When I am feeling introspective, I listen to you. When I am feeling like I need to dance, I rock out with you.

Your music is beyond powerful. It takes only a few bars of your songs to instantly change my entire state of mind. I become more alert and I just can’t help but start to move along to the tunes. You calm me down, and make me feel more at peace by confirming that I am not alone when I think the world is a crazy place. I am so glad I found you, and that I have you to keep close to my heart (and ears).

I’ll be honest. I didn’t always feel this way. My older sister found you long before I did, and when she used to blast your songs from her bedroom in the basement, I wondered what that noise was and turned up my pop music in response. How I regret those early days of our relationship! If only I had stopped to appreciate the musical arrangements, and Thom’s hypnotic voice! But, we cannot dwell on the past. I am just grateful to have you now, and to share you with my other loved ones.

Let me add that I would not be able to stand the traffic without you. I count myself lucky that I have you to accompany me as I crawl along the highway, gripping my steering wheel, trying not to curse the people around me for being part of the hell that is rush hour. You’ve been particularly helpful at the end of those extra rough days at work – when everything seems to go wrong and I feel as though nobody is on my side, you’re always there to fill my soul with your beautiful music. Somehow, your angst calms my angst – it doesn’t go away, but it feels less consuming when it is shared.

I also wanted to specifically thank you for this amazing gift. I know I’m about 5 years late in sending my thanks, but my discovery of Scotch Mist was the highlight of my winter holidays at the start of 2008:

How close I felt to you after watching you together in your studio! What a beautiful treat for me, and the millions of others who adore you as I do! And, as intimate and captivating as it was, I was equally floored when I saw you on tour last year. You filled that stadium so completely with your sound, it was hard to believe you were this far away:

True Love Waits

True Love Waits

Please accept my apologies for only getting face time with you twice in my life. The stadium show was really something, but our first date was one I’ll never forget. A show outdoors, in the middle of the summer, what more could a girl ask for? I didn’t even mind the cold rain, or the very real stampede of people when the show ended. It was a night that I will hold close to my heart forever. Plus, it was a bonus that there happened to be fireworks too, although I’m not sure you enjoyed them as much as I did.

If I could be a rockstar and be chums with you, well, I think that would be just awesome. While writing this letter, I’ve also gotten lost in your website, just browsing around and falling into sections I’ve never seen before. You are amazing artists, and never stop surprising me.

Thank you for The King of Limbs, In Rainbows, Hail to the Thief, Amnesiac, Kid A, OK Computer, The Bends, Pablo Honey…for everything. Here’s to many more years together – I hope you know how much I love you, and how much your albums have meant to me.

With much love and deep appreciation, Andrea

Leave a Reply

