Adventures in 2014

It is the beginning of another new year – unbelievable! Every year seems to go by faster than the last. Though January marks the start of the new year, I have always felt like September really signifies the start of something new. Perhaps this is because the first two thirds of my life were spent in school when September actually meant the start of a new (academic) year, or because the cold of the winter does not really feel like the most hospitable environment for growth or fresh starts (wouldn’t spring be more fitting?). Regardless, ringing in the New Year has never really been a priority for me, and the start of 2014 was no exception (my man, our animals, and me with a cold, assembled on our couch).

While this would usually be the opportune time to work on my resolutions for the months to come, this morning I found myself drafting a list of future posts and adventures I want to write about on this blog. Spoiler Alert: Pinterest will appear regularly. Low quality iPhone photos will persist in their attempt at appearing professional. I will continue to fight the good fight – trying to post once a week amongst the many distractions in my life.

So, to kick things off, let’s talk about why I love Pinterest. Though relatively new to me, it has quickly become a large part of my life – I like to think for the better. The initial appeal of this site was the obvious categories that I knew I would love (DIY & Crafts, Home Decor, Food & Drink). But I quickly learned that there was so much more to discover. Strange as it may sound, browsing pages of pins can sometimes be a transcendent experience, and I have found myself inspired countless times, in ways I would have never thought possible.

(In case you have been living under a rock, or are a late adopter like me: “Pinterest is a tool for collecting and organizing things you love.” –about.pinterest.com)

In the early days of my love affair with Pinterest, I created Food and Home boards, repinning anything that caught my eye. However it was my exploration of the Art, Design, and Architecture categories, and even the Everything category (aptly represented with an infinity icon) that led to the invention of one of my favorite boards that I’ve created: I Love This. It is comprised of a random collection of eye candy, things that inspire me, and (shameless) plugs for this blog.

Things that I love.

Things that I love.

There are many things on this board that I would love to write about, and some will be featured here in the future. The first is a very special pin that I created in my early days on Pinterest, and quite possibly the catalyst of this board, in that it is so random and would never fit anywhere else. It is…drum roll…a Narrative Organizer! (Spoiler Alert: Yes, I am a huge nerd, in case this was not already obvious.)

The Narrative Organizer from this blog caught my eye because it offers such a simple breakdown of how a good story is constructed. While this is clearly a teacher’s tool for elementary school, I loved it because it made the daunting task of writing a book seem less overwhelming. So months ago, I pinned it, thinking that it might come in handy one day. And now, at the start of 2014, after spending so much time writing with this adventure project, I feel that I have reawakened the nine year old nerd in me that wanted to be an author. And over the holidays, spent mostly with my two intelligent and beautiful sisters, I felt a spark. I got a glimmer of an idea. So I pulled up this pin, and did a little narrative exercise, mapping out what could be the bones of a book that I could write (if I had all the time in the world).

It was an entertaining and amusing exercise. And since then, I have started filling a notebook with more ideas, and fiddling with what might be a short story but could be the start of a chapter or two. My man has caught me staring into space more than once, as I’ve gotten lost in thoughts about where the plot could go and what the characters might do. While I do not know if anything will come of the scribbles in my little notebook, the act of writing and imagining has been invigorating, and I do not think it would have been possible without my discovery of a Narrative Organizer designed for children. Pinterest, who knew?

6 comments

  1. Pingback: True Words From an Artist | This is an adventure.
  2. Pingback: A Love Affair with Cartography | This is an adventure.
  3. Pingback: The Fantastic Truth | This is an adventure.
  4. Pingback: Words With Friends | This is an adventure.
  5. Pingback: Seaside Treasures at Home | This is an adventure.
  6. Pingback: Easy Crafting & Sunday Tumbling | This is an adventure.

Leave a Reply

