Spring Dreaming

There’s still snow on the ground but the sun is shining and starting today we get an extra hour of sun in the evening! While I hate the entire concept of daylight savings (don’t mess with my sleep patterns!) it feels a hundred times better to drive home from work when it is still light out. I can’t wait to walk my dog after work without a flashlight, and even though it is only March (which means at least another month of wintery weather up here in Canada) I am starting to feel a small glimmer of hope telling me that Spring is just around the corner.

My optimism is probably owing to the fact that today is the first day in March that I feel healthy and alive. This past week, I came down with a terrible flu and was out of commission for several days. I’ve finally got my appetite back and now that I’m Spring Dreaming, I’ve got my future vegetable garden on my mind. As I promised to myself back in December, this year I have resolved to plant a garden in my backyard and I think now would be a good time to start planning. (Or is it already too late?! Do I need to plant seedlings inside and then move them out? I have so much to learn!)

Empty Backyard

Empty backyard looking for love…

Here is my running list of what I want in my dream garden.

  • Green Beans
  • Tomatoes
  • Herbs Herbs Herbs
  • Lettuce and Leafy Greens (Spinach? Arugula?)
  • Carrots
  • Cucumbers
  • Zucchini
  • Radishes
  • Strawberries

Too much? Not enough? I’ll need to reconcile my dream list with the reality of a mostly shady backyard, a beginner gardener’s skill level, and a fairly short window of time to garden. (Summers are short in Canada after all!) Of course I’ve already got a Gardening board going over on Pinterest so I’ve got a lot of material I can start reading through to help me out, and I am also planning to seek advice from my parents, who have maintained the most incredible gardens at their home for the last ten years.

More to come!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Spring Has Sprung! | This is an adventure.
  2. Pingback: Phase Two of the Garden Project | This is an adventure.

Leave a Reply

