Dressing The Salad

It feels nearly impossible to articulate how exhilarating it has been to watch my vegetable garden grow so rapidly over the last two months. I suppose it is only comparable to that vivid feeling of wonder that I can remember from my childhood – wonder at the world and all of its mysteries, with a hint of uncontainable excitement. Each time I visit the garden I get that childlike feeling and I am astounded by the fact that these plants have grown and flourished under my (somewhat) watchful eye. It borders on miraculous and magical, really.

This photo is only a week old and the garden is already bigger!

This photo is only a week old and the garden has already gotten even bigger!

Many of the vegetables are still in the early stages of their growth but the lettuce and herbs are abundant and continually ready for picking. So, salad… Lots of salad happening these days. And lots of debate about how to dress the salad. I am almost happy to eat it undressed – because the lettuce is that good – but will go for a classic homemade vinaigrette any day of the week. My man prefers bottled dressing from the store, and would rather have a creamy ranch. So I decided to try for a compromise and tracked down this life-changing recipe on Pinterest. (Am I being dramatic when I say that my life has changed? Maybe. But this is the salad dressing I never knew I needed.)

The recipe? An outrageously easy creamy homemade dressing. I’m with Lucy from Hungry Cravings – I hate the bottled stuff too and this is salad dressing is incredibly versatile. In the handful of times I’ve made it, I tried adding and subtracting the ingredients to play with the taste and consistency, with delightful results every time. (So far I love it with LOTS of chives and herbs.)

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup of mayonnaise

1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard

1 or 2 cloves of garlic, grated

2 1/2 teaspoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice (about a quarter of a lemon)

3 tablespoons of water

Salt and pepper, to taste

*If desired (and strongly recommended), finely chopped fresh herbs (chives, parsley, basil, mint, etc.)

DIRECTIONS

Mix everything together in a bowl. Toss with salad and eat!

The first time I made this in a hurry and tossed roughly chopped herbs into the salad. Delightful.

The first time, I made this in a hurry and tossed roughly chopped herbs into the salad instead of the dressing. It was excellent.

This is also a fantastic dipping sauce – last night my man had some with our chicken and I think it would be great with veggies as a snack. I’m obsessed. I made all my friends at work try a bit of the dressing at lunch. Of course, when you’ve got greens like these, it isn’t surprising that it tastes so good!

greens

4 comments

    • andrearsh

      Thanks so much Miss Lilly!!! I have to admit, I am impressed too! Let’s give credit to Mother Nature – she’s really exceeded my expectations. Hope you’re doing well, my long lost friend!

  1. Pingback: Last Lettuce | This is an adventure.
  2. Pingback: Summer Salad Smorgasbord | This is an adventure.

Leave a Reply

