The Unintentional Hiatus

I’ve taken an unintentional hiatus from the adventure project. Not because I have run out of things to say (HA! That will never happen!) and not because I want to take a break. There’s a four letter word to explain my hiatus, and it ends with the letter K…

Way back at the beginning of September, I was on vacation and filled with aspirations of thoughtful, fun, and provoking posts for this blog – but the reality of going back to work quickly crushed those plans. My first day back was a straight dive into the deep end of an enormous and complicated project. It happens rarely, but once every few years a huge work project like this one comes along and it feels like it takes over my entire life.

Scrap that – feeling like it is taking over my life is an understatement. I know it is taking over my life, which is troubling on several levels since I have always maintained that a person’s home life is infinitely more important than one’s work life. But how does one find a balance between work and home when (for most people) the largest portion of our time is spent at work, and not at home with those we love? It is a dichotomy that I have never been able to get a handle on, and sometimes I wonder if I will ever figure it out.

The complexity of finding a work life balance already baffles me, particularly in these hyper-connected modern times. It seems impossible to really end a day at work when the phones that we carry contain access to work e-mail, ready to load at the tap of a finger. Don’t get me wrong, I fully acknowledge that these are first world problems and I am the first person to say that I love my phone – but I also recognize that this is a convoluted relationship, especially as it relates to bringing work home, whether intentional or not.

Throwing this huge work project into the mix has tipped the scales in favour of my work life taking over and my home life is suffering, to say the least. Fortunately, I have wonderful people in my life who help by giving me unconditional love and support – my man, who never complains about the late nights at work, making dinner and keeping the house under control (as much as it can be with three wild animal children); my friends, who remind me to get lots of sleep and focus on getting through one day at a time; and my sisters, who make me laugh when I want to cry.

I think we’ve passed the mid-way point of this crazy project at work, provided that we don’t get an extension, so hopefully I will find myself back on a normal schedule in the coming weeks. Until then, I am on an unintentional hiatus from this adventure, and I cannot wait to get back.

Leave a Reply

