On the Menu: Global Goodness

We’re going global this week with some international cuisine – Southern, Asian, Lebanese, more Southern, and an apparently classic American dish.

menu-01-17

Sunday Food Party: I’m actually getting the party started a bit early! Today I’ve already made a hearty vegetable-and-bean-stuffed chili with ground beef. The recipe comes from my mother (who’s an all-star in the kitchen) and a fragrant mix of chili powder and cumin is currently wafting through the entire house. We’ll have the chili for a late lunch with tortilla chips and some grated cheddar cheese, and then freeze the rest for weeknight meals in the coming weeks.

chili

Tomorrow I’m going to make this Lebanese-themed Lemon Parsley Bean Salad for lunch during the week. I’ve made it once before and it was delightful so I’m excited to try it again, even though I won’t be making it with fresh herbs from my garden.

Sunday afternoon I’m cooking this American Goulash which we’ll have for dinner, but the recipe is so big that we’ll be able to have it again later in the week. My man is a huge fan of this dish – ground beef, macaroni, minimal spices but still packed with flavour – what’s not to like?

Monday: Honey-Lime Sriracha Chicken with Peanut-Soy Noodles. We’ve made this chicken a handful of times and I love it more and more with each tasting. While the recipe calls for grilling the chicken on skewers, we pan fry them on the stove and they are insanely delicious. I’ll make the marinade on Sunday evening so the chicken can soak up the saucy goodness overnight; then Monday night all we have to do is make the noodles, which easily come together while the water for the pasta boils.

Tuesday: Turkey Chili Casserole. Yes, more chili, but this recipe involves two of my favourite things (cheese and pasta) so it’s like a whole different dish compared to what I’m making today. (Sidebar: I love this Skinny Mom website for tasty recipes! Turns out I have pinned a few dishes from this site and while I am neither a mother nor diet-obsessed, I love it.)

Wednesday: Leftovers! The Goulash will have sat in the fridge for a couple days so it will be extra flavourful.

Thursday: Steak, Broccoli, Rice. Another simple meal that my man can make with his eyes closed, and since we’ve got some nice filets in the freezer we decided to finish them off this week.

Friday: Dinner in the city with a friend and her husband, along with my man, my sister, and her boyfriend.

This is my third meal planning post of 2015 and already I can feel that the weekly practice of planning and posting is making a huge difference in my life. I’m almost having fun trying to put together my weekly menu and I’m finding myself getting more and more excited about the weeks to come, with countless recipes to try and favourites to share.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: On the Menu: Basic Healing | This is an adventure.
  2. Pingback: On the Menu: Winter Fatigue | This is an adventure.

Leave a Reply

