On the Menu: Free Format

Hiiiii, May. Hello, gorgeous weather. Hey there, baby blossoms and infant leaves. It took you all long enough, but I’m so glad you finally joined the party. You guys sure know how to make a girl feel happy-go-lucky. I spent all weekend outside cleaning up the yard, which got me even more excited to plant my super garden in a couple weeks, and also made me feel somewhat inclined to make a flower crown with the little blooms of yellow and purple poking out of the grass.

So in the spirit of my freewheeling-flower-crown-wearing hippy persona, I’m going free form this week and loosely planning just a couple meals.

menu-05-03

Saturday and Sunday: As I rightly predicted a few weeks ago, I succumbed to temptation/addiction and cooked up a homemade Macaroni and Cheese for dinner last night with a huge serving of asparagus on the side. (That said, I’m proud to share that I didn’t eat the whole dish and there was plenty leftover to stretch into the workweek for a few lunches, yesssss.) Dinner tonight will be a Portuguese spiced chicken that I’ve been excited to try – no recipe for this one, it comes pre-seasoned from the grocery store so we’ll see how it turns out. I’m expecting some heat from the spices so I’m going to try out this Radish and Cucumber Salad with Garlic-Yogurt Dressing as a cool counterpart to the spicy chicken.

I’m also going to make a homemade salsa tonight. I know, it isn’t tomato season for months, but I just felt like going a little wild, and I’ll use it for snacks during the week, and…

Monday: The salsa will be a key ingredient in the Burrito Rice Bowls that I’m planning to make for dinner tomorrow. We’ll probably have some leftover chicken from dinner tonight so I’ll be a purist and enjoy this vegetarian recipe as is while I toss the chicken into my man’s bowl.

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: It’ll be an open free format menu for the rest of the week. We’ve already got plans with some of my man’s extended family on Wednesday and I’m hoping to squeeze in a dinner with my parents at some point during the week as well…so I haven’t put anything else on the menu apart from the old standby – Chicken, Broccoli, and Rice (or Cesar Salad, if we’re feeling adventurous).

Leave a Reply

