On the Menu: Summer Slackers

My backyard garden is still offering up lettuce on the regular, there’s about 12 baby cucumbers growing in the back corner, and the tomato plants are a few inches taller than me – all of which implies that Summer is officially here! There’s FINALLY fresh produce available everywhere and I can’t get enough; whether it’s from my backyard or the local market, I’ll take it.

We’re still feeling pretty low key where meal planning is concerned (too hot, too lazy, too busy at work, too busy enjoying late night sunsets to want to bother with complicated meals) so this week’s plan is pretty basic but equally delicious.

menu-07-06

  • Lemon Parsley Bean Salad. Love, love, love this recipe. Made it for my grandfather’s birthday party over the weekend and doubled the recipe thinking I was feeding a large crowd – only to get most of the salad back at the end of the night. Jackpot! I’ll munch on this all week long.
  • Grilled Chicken with Tomato Parsley Salad. I found this recipe on Pinterest and I’ve been waiting for my herbs to flourish so I can make the salad from this simple and delightful sounding recipe. (And actually as I look at the photo of this dish, it seems pretty close to the Tomato Basil Magic salad that I love to make…which is probably what drew me to this recipe in the first place!)
  • Steak, Rice, and Cucumber-Radish Salad. This year I mastered pan-fried steak with the help of these excellent instructions. Sear one side on the stove top and finish the other side in the oven – it’s fast, easy, and for some reason I feel like a professional chef when I prepare the steak this way. I’ve made this salad before and I’ll make it again – next time with cucumbers from my garden!
  • Chicken Broccoli Alfredo. This pasta dish never gets old and I’ve got lots of fantastic cheese in the fridge to switch up the flavours this week. Mmmmmmm.
  • Summer Salad Smorgasbord. Last week, this week, next week, every week this Summer… Salad forever. The beauty of my salad melange methodology is that it tastes different whenever I throw a random salad together, so it never feels dull or repetitive. I’m also hard boiling a few eggs so I can make egg salad sandwiches for lunch this week (embellished with herbs from the backyard, of course).
Leave a Reply

