On the Menu: Fall Favourites

This week’s menu is all about favourite dishes or ingredients that are seasonally appropriate (meaning: cheesy comfort food / the last of the in-season produce that I’ll be able to source in Canada for the next few months). My last menu ended up stretching out over 2 weeks between dinners with my parents and a few random unexpected nights out… so this week I am back at it with a “light” menu (meaning: planning less meals than there are days in the week under the assumption that I will eat leftovers / enjoy takeout / share dinner with my new best friends – my mom and dad).

menu-11-22

Sunday Food Party: I almost forgot about this delicious Chicken Enchilada Casserole that was the very first recipe I ever featured on This is an adventure, way back in 2013. The bean-corn-onion mixture in this recipe yields twice what you need to make the casserole so I decided to go double or nothing make two casseroles which will allow me to freeze one for future enjoyment.

Monday: I’ll be testing this recipe for Spaghetti Squash Alfredo since squash is fantastic this time of year and I love me some Alfredo sauce. (Cheesy creamy sauce? Yes, please.) I’ll make a side of green beans to have with the squash, sautéed in some butter and garlic, yum.

Tuesday / Wednesday: Salade Niçoise à la Andrea. There’s this great sandwich and salad place about 5 minutes from my office and they do a nice twist on this classic French salad with chickpeas instead of green beans and potatoes, and I’ve concocted my own version with spinach, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, chickpeas, tuna, hard boiled eggs, and a simple balsamic dressing made with dijon mustard and a touch of honey. The eggs and chickpeas and tuna have so much protein that this salad is insanely filling, I looooove it.

Thursday: Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Tomato Soup. So simple, so good, enough said.

Friday: Who knows? This is an adventure.

One comment

Leave a Reply

